

NATIONAL ECONOMIC AND DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY XI



RDC XI Undertakes Reorganization Process for the 2016-2019 Term

Davao City - The Regional Development Council (RDC) XI has reorganized for the term 2016-2019 based on Executive Order No. 325, series of 1996.

According to the RDC XI Acting Chairperson, NEDA XI Regional Director Maria Lourdes D. Lim, the reorganization process includes the selection of fourteen (14) Private Sectors Representatives (PSRs) who comprises 25 percent of the full Council membership. She said that the ex-officio members of the Council, composed of national government agencies agreed to distribute the 14 PSR slots to the following basic and (basic sector) labor, NGOs/cooperatives, consumers' group, business sectors: women/children/youth, PWDs/senior citizens, IP/cultural communities and small farmers/fisherfolk; (business business organizations, sector) tourism. agribusiness/industry clusters, forestry/mining, energy, housing/construction and academe/research and development, during its meeting on May 17, 2016. The Council confirmed the following PSRs who took oath during the RDC XI reorganization meeting on August 26, 2016: Pastor Elmer Dianga (IPs/CCs), Ms. Dolores R. Alegarbes (Labor), Mr. Virgilio D. Tagnipez (Small Farmers/Fisher folks), Ms. Andrea Maria Patricia M. Sarenas (NGOs/Cooperatives), Ms. Florie May Tacang (Women/Children/Youth), Ms. Cheryl C. Arellano (PWDs/Senior Citizens), Dr. Sherlina M. Hao (Consumer Groups), Mr. Valente D. Tutur (Agribusiness/Industry Clusters), Mr. Danel C. Aboitiz (Energy), Arch. (Forest/Mining), Joseph Palanca Evan Glece (Housing/Construction), Mr. Jimmie-Loe P. dela Vega (Academe), Ms. Alma L. Uy (Tourism), Mr. Vicente T. Lao (Business Groups). The PSRs were selected from thirtynine (39) accredited private sector organizations who attended the PSR Selection Assembly on August 11 and 15, 2016.

Chairperson Lim also informed that the Council has designated the Chairpersons and Co-chairpersons of the 5 sectoral committees under the RDC XI: DA OIC-Director Ricardo Oñate and PSR Vicenter Lao (Economic Development Committee), DILG XI Director Ananias Villacorta and PSR Dolores Alegarbes (Development Administration Committee), DPWH XI Director Mariano R. Alquiza and PSR Danel C. Aboitiz (Infrastructure Development Committee), DOLE XI Director Joffrey M. Suyao and PSR Andrea Maria Patricia M. Sarenas (Macroeconomy and Finance Committee), PSR Florie May Tacang and CHED XI Director Raul C. Alvarez, Jr. (Social Development Committee).

The Council also has selected its nominees for Chairperson and Co-chairperson. The Council selected Governors Anthony G. del Rosario of Davao del Norte and Jayvee Tyron L. Uy of Compostela Valley as nominees for chairperson; and private sector representatives Vicente T. Lao and Andrea Maria Patricia M. Sarenas as nominees for co-chairperson. EO 325 provides that the RDCs shall nominate at least 2 local chief executives and 2 private sector representatives from whom the President shall select and appoint the Chair and Co-chair of the Council.

Contact:

Catherine A. Laguesma, Chief EDS, NEDA XI Joan Irene M. Prantilla, EDS 1 Tel # (082-296-0161)

Email: nedaroxi@neda.net

###