The Regional Development Council (RDC) XI has reorganized for the Term 2019 to 2022, as prescribed in the terms under Executive Order No. 325 s. 1996.

NEDA XI Director Maria Lourdes D. Lim as Acting Chairperson of RDC XI.

Headed by the RDC XI Acting Chairperson, NEDA XI Regional Director Maria Lourdes D. Lim, the reorganization process started with the selection of the fourteen (14) priority sectors, to be represented in the RDC XI by their respective Private Sector Representatives (PSRs). During the Council’s 2nd Quarter CY 2019 meeting, the ex-officio members agreed for the following basic and business sectors to be represented in the RDC: Forestry/Agribusiness, Tourism and Hospitality, Fisherfolks, Farmers/Cooperatives/Irrigation, Energy/ICT, Housing/Construction, Urban Poor/NGOs/Consumers Group, Academe, PWD/Senior Citizens, Safety and Security, Mining, Labor, Children/Women/Youth, and the Indigenous Peoples sector.

The 14 PSRs were then selected following two assemblies for all nominees conducted on August 5 & 19, 2019. During the 3rd Quarter CY 2019 RDC meeting on August 23, 2019, the Council has confirmed its new set of PSRs. The following PSRs took their oath of office to represent their respective sectors in the RDC: Dennis Joseph Salvador (Forestry/Agribusiness), Arturo Milan (Tourism and Hospitality), Lorenzo Borja (Fisherfolk), Valente Turtur (Farmers/Cooperatives/Irrigation), Samuel Matunog (Energy/ICT), Evan Glece Casas (Housing/Construction), Conrado Sillada (Urban Poor/NGOs/Consumers Group), Jimmie-Loe Dela Vega (Academe), Cheryl Arellano (PWD/Senior Citizens), Meliton Lemos (Safety and Security), Joseph Palanca (Mining), Daryl Alegarbes (Labor), Augusto Blanco Jr. (Indigenous Peoples), and Florie May Tacang (Children/Women/Youth).

Oath-taking of the new set of Private Sector Representatives of RDC XI for Term 2019 to 2022.

The reorganization continued with the confirmation of the Chairpersons and Co-Chairpersons of the five (5) Sectoral Committees under the RDC: DOH Director Annabelle Yumang and PSR Jimmie-Loe Dela Vega (Social Development Committee XI), DTI Director Ma. Belenda Ambi and PSR Valente Turtur (Economic Development Committee XI), DPWH Director Allan Borromeo and PSR Arturo Milan (Infrastructure Development Committee XI), DILG Director Alex Roldan and PSR Meliton Lemos (Development Administration Committee XI), and, Samuel Matunog for the Macroeconomy and Finance Committee XI, pending the selection of a Co-Chairperson.

Oath-taking of the designated Chairperson and Co-Chairperson of RDC XI Sectoral Committees.

With the confirmation of Sectoral Committee officers, the Council’s Executive Committee was reconstituted as follows: NEDA XI Director Maria Lourdes Lim as Acting Chairperson pending the appointment of the Chairperson & Co-Chairperson; NEDA XI Asst. Director Priscilla Sonido as Secretary; the Chairpersons of the Sectoral Committees – Ma. Belenda Ambi, Annabelle Yumang, Allan Borromeo, Alex Roldan, and Samuel Matunog; and, the Local Chief Executives of Davao Region – Mayor Sara Duterte of Davao City, Gov. Jayvee Tyron Uy of Compostela Valley, Gov. Edwin Jubahib of Davao del Norte, Gov. Douglas Cagas of Davao del Sur, Gov. Claude Bautista of Davao Occidental, and Gov. Nelson Dayanghirang of Davao Oriental. The RDC XI Executive Committee is convened to act on matters that require immediate attention for and in behalf of the Council.

A total of seventeen (17) Special Non-Voting Members (SNVMs) were confirmed by the Council during its Reorganization meeting. The confirmed SNVMs for Term 2019 to 2022 were: the Davao City Chamber of Commerce and Industry Inc., DENR-EMB XI, DENR-MGB XI, National Housing Authority XI, NCIP XI, PIA XI, PNP XI, 10th Infantry Division of the Philippine Army, Office of the Civil Defense XI, PSA XI, DBP, AdDU University Research Council, National Intelligence Coordinating Agency XI, Landbank of the Philippines, PRC XI, SEC XI, and the Subdivision and Housing Developers Association, Inc. The involvement of SNVMs in the RDC shall allow the Council to respond to the unique needs of Davao Region.

To complete its reorganization for Term 2019 to 2022, the Council has selected its nominees for Council Chairperson and Co-Chairperson. The Council has selected Governor Jayvee Tyron Uy of Compostela Valley, Mayor Allan L. Rellon of Tagum City, PSR Valente Turtur, and PSR Arturo Milan as nominees for Chairperson/Co-Chairperson. Executive Order 325 s. 1996 provides that the President of the Philippines shall appoint the Council’s Chairperson and Co-Chairperson from at least two Local Chief Executive nominees and two Private Sector Representatives, further providing that if the Chairperson is a Local Chief Executive, the Co-Chairperson must be a Private Sector Representative, vice versa.

The RDC XI 4th Quarter CY 2019 Full Council meeting is tentatively scheduled on December 6, 2019. – Laurence Gido, NEDA XI