The Regional Development Council (RDC) XI was reorganized for the Term 2022 to 2025, as prescribed under Executive Order No. 325, s. 1996 during the Council’s Meeting on August 12, 2022. The RDC XI reorganization process commenced with the approval and confirmation of the fourteen (14) priority sectors to be represented in the RDC XI by selected Private Sector Representatives (PSRs). During the End-of-Term State of the Region Address cum CY 2022 2nd Quarter Full Council Meeting, the Council’s ex-officio members agreed for the following basic and business sectors to be represented in the RDC XI: Labor, Indigenous Peoples, Environment and Natural Resources, Fisherfolk, PWD/Senior Citizens, Youth/Women/Children, Urban Poor/Consumers Group, Mining, Farmers/Agribusiness, Housing/Construction, Energy/ICT, Academe, Safety, Security, and Disaster Resiliency, and the Tourism and Hospitality sector.

(From left: RDC XI Secretary and NEDA XI ARD Gilberto A. Altura and RDC XI Acting Chairperson and NEDA XI RD Maria Lourdes D. Lim)

The following PSRs took their oath of office to represent their respective sectors in the RDC XI during the Reorganizational Meeting on August 12, 2022, viz: Ms. Daryl Alegarbes (Labor), Mr. Lorenzo Borja (Fisherfolk), Mr. Naprey Almario (PWD/Senior Citizens), Fr. Gil Casio (Youth/Women/Children), Mr. Marc Daryne Rovira (Urban Poor/Consumers Group), Mr. Joseph Palanca (Mining), Ms. Twinkle Bautista (Farmers/Agribusiness), Mr. Ricardo Lagdameo (Housing/Construction), Mr. Arturo Milan (Energy/ICT), Mr. Rommel Momo (Academe), Mr. Igmedio Solis (Safety, Security, and Disaster Resiliency), Ms. Gene Bangayan (Tourism and Hospitality), Mr. Augusto Blanco, Jr. (Indigenous Peoples) and Mr. Dennis Joseph Salvador (Environment and Natural Resources). The latter two PSRs joined the meeting virtually.

(Oath-taking of the new set of RDC XI PSRs for Term 2022 to 2025)

The Council proceeded to the selection of nominees for the Council’s Chairperson and Co-Chairperson. By consensus of the Local Chief Executives and the PSRs, the nominees for the RDC XI Officers are: Governor Corazon Nuñez-Malanyaon of Davao Oriental, Governor Dorothy Gonzaga of Davao de Oro, PSR Arturo Milan and PSR Joseph Palanca. Executive Order 325, s. 1996 provides that the President of the Philippines shall appoint the Council’s Chairperson and Co-Chairperson from at least two Local Chief Executive nominees and two Private Sector Representatives, further providing that if the Chairperson is a Local Chief Executive, the Co-Chairperson must be a Private Sector Representative or vice versa.

In addition, the Council designated the respective Chairpersons and Co-Chairpersons of the four Sectoral Committees under the RDC XI, viz: DOH XI Director Annabelle Yumang and PSR Daryl Alegarbes (Social Development Committee XI), DTI XI Director Ma. Belenda Ambi and Joseph Palanca (Economic Development Committee XI), PSR Ricardo F. Lagdameo and DPWH XI Director Rey Peter Gille (Infrastructure Development Committee XI), and, DILG XI Director Alex Roldan and PSR Augusto Blanco, Jr. (Development Administration Committee XI).

To complete its reorganization process for the Term 2022 to 2025, the Council reconstituted its Executive Committee as follows: NEDA XI Director Maria Lourdes Lim as RDC XI Acting Chairperson pending the appointment of the Chairperson and Co-Chairperson; NEDA XI Assistant Director Gilberto Altura as Secretary; the Chairpersons of the Sectoral Committees – Director Annabelle Yumang, Director Ma. Belenda Ambi, PSR Ricardo Lagdameo, and Director Alex Roldan; the Local Chief Executives of Davao Region – Mayor Sebastian Duterte of Davao City, Gov. Dorothy M. Gonzaga of Davao de Oro, Gov. Edwin Jubahib of Davao del Norte, Gov. Yvonne Cagas of Davao del Sur, Gov. Franklin Bautista of Davao Occidental, and Gov. Corazon Nuñez-Malanyaon of Davao Oriental; and the three PSRs selected by the Council as members of the ExCom, namely: PSR Arturo Milan, PSR Gene Bangayan and PSR Rommel Momo. The RDC XI Executive Committee shall convene to act on matters that require immediate action for and in behalf of the Council.

(The RDC XI Members during its Reorganizational Meeting on 12 August 2022)

-RDC XI Secretariat, NEDA XI